I Met George “The Iceman” Gervin

Wendale Farrow getting knowledge from George Gervin

Wendale Farrow getting knowledge from George Gervin

Wendale Farrow on meeting “The Iceman”:

“I met George “The Iceman” Gervin when he came back to our school to receive his degree. This man had jokes for days. He said ‘If u look in the mirror and yo reflection’s lookin down you ain’t ready.’ We all went home and looked in the mirror that night too just to make sure we was ready.”

*George Gervin is a walking legend! Only Wilt Chamberlain and Michael Jordan have led the league in scoring more times than Gervin. The Detroit native’s  NBA career scoring average was 26.2 points per game as he starred for the San Antonio Spurs in the 1970’s. He also has one of the coldest Nike posters of all-time!

3 Responses to “I Met George “The Iceman” Gervin”

  1. Geez was Ice ever great. I lived in San Antonio when the Spurs first came to town, on loan from Dallas. My friends and I went all the time. I’ll bet that I saw almost of his home court 50-point games. Ice was neither the fastest player on the floor nor the most athletically gifted, but he was unbelievably quick and — for my money — had as many or more moves to the hoop as anyone who has ever played the game. Throw in that he loved San Antonio and you have a love affair between city and athlete. Without George Gervin and David Robinson, there would not be NBA basketball in San Antonio,

  2. Eric Woodyard Says:

    Yeah Gervin was a beast!! I didnt get to see him play while he actually played but I have seen many tapes of him and heard many stories about him.

  3. I normally dont post comments but I love reading about my favorite basketball team. Please update again soon.

Leave a Reply

